Monday, April 23, 2012

My Favorite Author~ Hogan Stevens

A couple of weeks ago, I received a new book in the mail, a book I had been anxiously awaiting for what seemed like forever. It was the first of a new series, and yet it was the ninth book in an epic storyline that spanned over three series, all by the same author: Bryan Davis.

Years ago, when I was about 12 or so, I read my first book by Davis, and I immediately fell in love. It was Raising Dragons, the first in a four book series. I've always had a love for adventure type stories that include some fantasy elements, but usually those type of books are a bit harder to find in the Christian section. At least, it's hard to find any that are actually good.

Well, as soon as I got my hands on that first Bryan Davis book, I could hardly put it down. It had just the right amount of adventure, packed full with ancient secrets and tales told by dragons. Yes, that's right! Dragons. And the awesome part is that all of his books show a great amount of Christian ideals.

The first series--the Dragons in Our Midst series--centers around Billy Bannister, a young man whose life is turned upside down when he discovers that he possesses dragon genes, and Bonnie Silver, a lovely girl who loves God with all of her heart and hides a strange secret from those who wish to hurt her. She and Billy meet in the first book and come to understand that they have a lot in common--because his father and her mother used to be dragons centuries ago, Billy and Bonnie are now being hunted by an evil dragon slayer intent on taking their lives. Over the course of the four books, Billy and Bonnie establish a strong friendship, and together they go through many dangerous and exciting adventures learning about a past filled with dragons-turned-human, traveling through both heaven and hell, and coming to understand just what plan God has for their lives.

If you have never read these books, then I heartily suggest you do so when you get the chance. They are by far some of the best I have ever read; I would easily put them in my top 10 list. And that's just the first series!

The second series--Oracles of Fire--is even better than the first. It's another four books, and while we are introduced to many new, amazing characters, Billy and Bonnie (along with their friends Walter and Ashley and more) are still a big part of the story. The first book in the Oracles of Fire is called Eye of the Oracle, and it starts with the Flood in Noah's time, leading all the way to the present, with Saphira usually as the main character. We follow Saphira through her journey as a lowly slave girl that finds love in the eyes of her Savior. Her tale is a sad yet lovely one, and she is probably one of my favorite characters ever.

Bryan Davis has a true talent for writing. With his many complex, realistic characters that each have a personality of their own and his magnificent plotlines that have you on the edge of your seat the whole way through, I guarantee these books will steal your heart and ignite your imagination.

Are you ready for a twisting, suspenseful adventure full of secrets kept by dragons and dangerous villains seeking to cover the world in darkness? Then these books are for you.

Because, of course, we know that the light always prevails.

And with Bryan Davis as the author, the story is bound to leave you wanting more.

Did you know that Hogan is the master at falling down the stairs?!?!

No comments:

Post a Comment